Basic Preventive 5 (Iron Free)
En vente sur le marché américain (selon le DSLD)
Douglas Laboratories, food supplement from the US market
Basic Preventive 5 (Iron Free) (Douglas Laboratories), a food supplement au code-barres 745287010310, is described by its US market label, recorded on 25 February 2021. If sold in France, it would be subject to 6 points of French or European regulation, detailed below. Doses of folates, niacine, vitamine A are not compared: their US units depend on the form. The formula sold in Europe under the same name may differ.
Official label, entered on 25 February 2021. Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD), US National Institutes of Health: current and off-market labels, retrieved 27 October 2026.
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Dietary Supplement Label Database (CC0); US market labels.
Displayed label: Official label. Labels on the market are prioritised, followed by the most recent for the same status.
If this product were sold in France
- Dose déclarée au-delà d'une limite
Vitamine C: up to 535 mg a day according to the label (at most 1 serving a day), above the maximum dose of 180 mg set in France for a food supplement (2006 Order, not revised since November 2006).
Source: French orders of 9 May 2006 and 14 November 2006 as published in the Official Journal (maximum daily doses), arrêté du 9 mai 2006, annexe III.
- Dose déclarée au-delà d'une limite
Vitamine E: up to 119 mg a day according to the label (at most 1 serving a day), above the maximum dose of 30 mg set in France for a food supplement (2006 Order, not revised since November 2006).
Source: French orders of 9 May 2006 and 14 November 2006 as published in the Official Journal (maximum daily doses), arrêté du 9 mai 2006, annexe III.
- Dose déclarée au-delà d'une limite
Vitamine B6: up to 22 mg a day according to the label (at most 1 serving a day), above the maximum dose of 2 mg set in France for a food supplement (2006 Order, not revised since November 2006).
Source: French orders of 9 May 2006 and 14 November 2006 as published in the Official Journal (maximum daily doses), arrêté du 9 mai 2006, annexe III.
- Dose déclarée au-delà d'une limite
Sélénium: up to 90 µg a day according to the label (at most 1 serving a day), above the maximum dose of 50 µg set in France for a food supplement (2006 Order, not revised since November 2006).
Source: French orders of 9 May 2006 and 14 November 2006 as published in the Official Journal (maximum daily doses), arrêté du 9 mai 2006, annexe III.
- Dose déclarée au-delà d'une limite
Manganèse: up to 9 mg a day according to the label (at most 1 serving a day), above the maximum dose of 3.5 mg set in France for a food supplement (2006 Order, not revised since November 2006).
Source: French orders of 9 May 2006 and 14 November 2006 as published in the Official Journal (maximum daily doses), arrêté du 9 mai 2006, annexe III.
- Dose déclarée au-delà d'une limite
Chrome: up to 85 µg a day according to the label (at most 1 serving a day), above the maximum dose of 25 µg set in France for a food supplement (2006 Order, not revised since November 2006).
Source: French orders of 9 May 2006 and 14 November 2006 as published in the Official Journal (maximum daily doses), arrêté du 9 mai 2006, annexe III.
- À vérifier
Vitamine B6: up to 22 mg a day according to the label, above the limite de sécurité from EFSAEuropean Food Safety Authority. for adults (12 mg a day). Le repère de l'EFSA porte sur l'apport total d'une journée, alimentation et compléments.
Source: EFSA, Overview on Tolerable Upper Intake Levels (version 11, August 2025), limite supérieure de sécurité (UL).
- À vérifier
Manganèse: up to 9 mg a day according to the label, above the niveau de sécurité from EFSA for adults (8 mg a day). Son dépassement ne permet pas, à lui seul, de caractériser un risque : l'EFSA n'a pas pu fixer de limite supérieure pour ce nutriment. Le repère de l'EFSA porte sur l'apport total d'une journée, alimentation et compléments.
Source: EFSA, Overview on Tolerable Upper Intake Levels (version 11, August 2025), niveau de sécurité.
A daily dose is calculated only if the label gives the maximum number of servings and a unit of mass (or international units for vitamin D). Quantities come from the label, not an analysis. In the United States, the label presents this product as a ‘dietary supplement’; in France, a product of this type may belong to another category (a sports powder, for example), and maximum food supplement doses do not apply to it.
Label composition
- Brand
- Douglas Laboratories
- Barcode
- 745287010310
- Form
- Capsule
- One serving
- 4 vegetarian capsules
- Servings
- up to 1 serving per day
- Other ingredients (in English, as written)
- Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Microcrystalline Cellulose, Vegetable Stearate, Silica
| Ingredient (as written, in English) | Category | Per serving |
|---|---|---|
| Vitamin A | Vitamin | 3,330 µg |
| Vitamin C | Vitamin | 535 mg |
| Vitamin D3 | Vitamin | 1.1 µg |
| Vitamin E | Vitamin | 119 mg |
| Vitamin K1 | Vitamin | 27 µg |
| Thiamine | Vitamin | 44 mg |
| Riboflavin | Vitamin | 20 mg |
| Niacin | Vitamin | 85 mg |
| Vitamin B6 | Vitamin | 22 mg |
| Folate | Vitamin | 592 µg DFE (dietary folate equivalent) |
| Folic Acid | Vitamin | 355 µg |
| Vitamin B12 | Vitamin | 44 µg |
| Biotin | Vitamin | 133 µg |
| Pantothenic Acid | Vitamin | 178 mg |
| Choline | Vitamin | 65 mg |
| Calcium | Mineral | 220 mg |
| Iodine | Mineral | 70 µg |
| Magnesium Complex | Mineral | 220 mg |
| Zinc | Mineral | 9 mg |
| Selenium | Mineral | 90 µg |
| Copper | Mineral | 0.8 mg |
| Manganese | Mineral | 9 mg |
| Chromium | Mineral | 85 µg |
| Molybdenum | Mineral | 65 µg |
| Potassium Complex | Mineral | 44 mg |
| Citrus Bioflavonoids Complex | Other substance | 44 mg |
| Inositol | Other substance | 22 mg |
| Para-Aminobenzoic Acid | Other substance | 20 mg |
| Boron | Mineral | 0.9 mg |
| Vanadium | Mineral | 18 µg |
Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD), US National Institutes of Health: current and off-market labels, retrieved 27 October 2026.
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Dietary Supplement Label Database (CC0); US market labels.
Other versions of this label
The differences below describe each other version relative to the label shown on this page. They concern active ingredient rows and quantities per serving as written. Missing quantities are not estimated and different units are not converted. Dates refer to entry into DSLD, not necessarily to a formula change.
Official label: Basic Preventive 5 (Iron Free)
Entered into DSLD on 26 December 2020. Retirée du marché américain le 31 January 2024 (selon le DSLD).- Active ingredient added : Vitamin C Complex (1,200 mg)
- Active ingredient removed : Vitamin C (535 mg)
- Different quantity per serving : Biotin: 300 mcg in this version; 133 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Boron: 2 mg in this version; 0.9 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Calcium: 500 mg in this version; 220 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Choline: 150 mg in this version; 65 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Chromium: 200 mcg in this version; 85 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Citrus Bioflavonoids Complex: 100 mg in this version; 44 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Copper: 2 mg in this version; 0.8 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Folate: 1,333 mcg DFE in this version; 592 mcg DFE on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Folic Acid: 800 mcg in this version; 355 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Inositol: 50 mg in this version; 22 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Iodine: 150 mcg in this version; 70 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Magnesium Complex: 500 mg in this version; 220 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Manganese: 20 mg in this version; 9 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Molybdenum: 150 mcg in this version; 65 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Niacin: 200 mg in this version; 85 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Pantothenic Acid: 400 mg in this version; 178 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Para-Aminobenzoic Acid: 50 mg in this version; 20 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Potassium Complex: 99 mg in this version; 44 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Riboflavin: 50 mg in this version; 20 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Selenium: 200 mcg in this version; 90 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Thiamine: 100 mg in this version; 44 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vanadium: 39 mcg in this version; 18 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vitamin A: 7,500 mcg in this version; 3,330 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vitamin B12: 100 mcg in this version; 44 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vitamin B6: 50 mg in this version; 22 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vitamin D3: 2.5 mcg in this version; 1.1 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vitamin E: 268 mg in this version; 119 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vitamin K1: 60 mcg in this version; 27 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Zinc: 20 mg in this version; 9 mg on the displayed label
Official label: Basic Preventive 5 Iron-Free
Entered into DSLD on 25 March 2014. Retirée du marché américain le 31 July 2020 (selon le DSLD).- Active ingredient added : Ascorbic Acid (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient added : Calcium Ascorbate (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient added : Magnesium (500 mg)
- Active ingredient added : Magnesium Aspartate-Ascorbate (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient added : Potassium (99 mg)
- Active ingredient added : Potassium Aspartate-Ascorbate (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient removed : Folate (592 mcg DFE)
- Active ingredient removed : Magnesium Complex (220 mg)
- Active ingredient removed : Potassium Complex (44 mg)
- Different quantity per serving : Biotin: 300 mcg in this version; 133 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Boron: 2 mg in this version; 0.9 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Calcium: 500 mg in this version; 220 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Choline: 150 mg in this version; 65 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Chromium: 200 mcg in this version; 85 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Citrus Bioflavonoids Complex: 100 mg in this version; 44 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Copper: 2 mg in this version; 0.8 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Folic Acid: 800 mcg in this version; 355 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Inositol: 50 mg in this version; 22 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Iodine: 150 mcg in this version; 70 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Manganese: 20 mg in this version; 9 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Molybdenum: 150 mcg in this version; 65 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Niacin: 200 mg in this version; 85 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Pantothenic Acid: 400 mg in this version; 178 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Para-Aminobenzoic Acid: 50 mg in this version; 20 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Riboflavin: 50 mg in this version; 20 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Selenium: 200,200 mcg in this version; 90 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Thiamine: 100 mg in this version; 44 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vanadium: 39 mcg in this version; 18 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vitamin B12: 100 mcg in this version; 44 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vitamin B6: 50 mg in this version; 22 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vitamin C: 1,200 mg in this version; 535 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vitamin K1: 60 mcg in this version; 27 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Zinc: 20 mg in this version; 9 mg on the displayed label
- Different unit, without conversion : Vitamin A: 25,000 IU in this version; 3,330 mcg on the displayed label
- Different unit, without conversion : Vitamin D3: 100 IU in this version; 1.1 mcg on the displayed label
- Different unit, without conversion : Vitamin E: 400 IU in this version; 119 mg on the displayed label
Official label: Basic Preventive 5 Iron-Free
Entered into DSLD on 25 July 2012. Retirée du marché américain le 31 July 2013 (selon le DSLD).- Active ingredient added : Citrus Bioflavonoids (100 mg)
- Active ingredient added : Magnesium (500 mg)
- Active ingredient removed : Citrus Bioflavonoids Complex (44 mg)
- Active ingredient removed : Folate (592 mcg DFE)
- Active ingredient removed : Magnesium Complex (220 mg)
- Different quantity per serving : Biotin: 300 mcg in this version; 133 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Boron: 2 mg in this version; 0.9 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Calcium: 500 mg in this version; 220 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Choline: 150 mg in this version; 65 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Chromium: 200 mcg in this version; 85 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Copper: 2 mg in this version; 0.8 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Folic Acid: 800 mcg in this version; 355 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Inositol: 50 mg in this version; 22 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Iodine: 150 mcg in this version; 70 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Manganese: 20 mg in this version; 9 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Molybdenum: 150 mcg in this version; 65 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Niacin: 200 mg in this version; 85 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Pantothenic Acid: 400 mg in this version; 178 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Para-Aminobenzoic Acid: 50 mg in this version; 20 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Potassium Complex: 99 mg in this version; 44 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Riboflavin: 50 mg in this version; 20 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Selenium: 200 mcg in this version; 90 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Thiamine: 100 mg in this version; 44 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vanadium: 39 mcg in this version; 18 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vitamin B12: 100 mcg in this version; 44 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vitamin B6: 50 mg in this version; 22 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vitamin C: 1,200 mg in this version; 535 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vitamin K1: 60 mcg in this version; 27 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Zinc: 20 mg in this version; 9 mg on the displayed label
- Different unit, without conversion : Vitamin A: 25,000 IU in this version; 3,330 mcg on the displayed label
- Different unit, without conversion : Vitamin D3: 100 IU in this version; 1.1 mcg on the displayed label
- Different unit, without conversion : Vitamin E: 400 IU in this version; 119 mg on the displayed label
Official label: Basic Preventive 5 Iron-Free
Entered into DSLD on 23 February 2012. Retirée du marché américain le 20 January 2012 (selon le DSLD).- Active ingredient added : Citrus Bioflavonoids (100 mg)
- Active ingredient added : Magnesium (500 mg)
- Active ingredient removed : Citrus Bioflavonoids Complex (44 mg)
- Active ingredient removed : Folate (592 mcg DFE)
- Active ingredient removed : Magnesium Complex (220 mg)
- Different quantity per serving : Biotin: 300 mcg in this version; 133 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Boron: 2 mg in this version; 0.9 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Calcium: 500 mg in this version; 220 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Choline: 150 mg in this version; 65 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Chromium: 200 mcg in this version; 85 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Copper: 2 mg in this version; 0.8 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Folic Acid: 800 mcg in this version; 355 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Inositol: 50 mg in this version; 22 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Iodine: 150 mcg in this version; 70 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Manganese: 20 mg in this version; 9 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Molybdenum: 150 mcg in this version; 65 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Niacin: 200 mg in this version; 85 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Pantothenic Acid: 400 mg in this version; 178 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Para-Aminobenzoic Acid: 50 mg in this version; 20 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Potassium Complex: 99 mg in this version; 44 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Riboflavin: 50 mg in this version; 20 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Selenium: 200 mcg in this version; 90 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Thiamine: 100 mg in this version; 44 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vanadium: 39 mcg in this version; 18 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vitamin B12: 100 mcg in this version; 44 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vitamin B6: 50 mg in this version; 22 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vitamin C: 1,200 mg in this version; 535 mg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Vitamin K1: 60 mcg in this version; 27 mcg on the displayed label
- Different quantity per serving : Zinc: 20 mg in this version; 9 mg on the displayed label
- Different unit, without conversion : Vitamin A: 25,000 IU in this version; 3,330 mcg on the displayed label
- Different unit, without conversion : Vitamin D3: 100 IU in this version; 1.1 mcg on the displayed label
- Different unit, without conversion : Vitamin E: 400 IU in this version; 119 mg on the displayed label
Source
This information reproduces the US label recorded by the US National Institutes of Health (NIH). It does not say whether the product is effective and does not replace advice from a doctor or pharmacist, particularly during pregnancy or when taking medication.
List declared on (register: Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD), US National Institutes of Health: current and off-market labels).
List recorded in 2021. Photograph the packaging to check whether it has changed. Photograph the packaging
Brand : Douglas Laboratories