Essential Defense
En vente sur le marché américain (selon le DSLD)
Metagenics, food supplement from the US market
Essential Defense (Metagenics), a food supplement au code-barres 755571201058, is described by its US market label, recorded on 23 August 2023. If sold in France, it would be subject to 3 points of French or European regulation, detailed below. The formula sold in Europe under the same name may differ.
Official label, entered on 23 August 2023. Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD), US National Institutes of Health: current and off-market labels, retrieved 27 October 2026.
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Dietary Supplement Label Database (CC0); US market labels.
Displayed label: Official label. Labels on the market are prioritised, followed by the most recent for the same status.
If this product were sold in France
- Conditions légales
Platycodon grandiflorus (Jacq.) A.DC.: L'étiquetage doit comporter un avertissement déconseillant un usage prolongé, tel que "L'usage prolongé peut irriter l'estomac".
Source: French orders of 9 May 2006 (nutrients), 24 June 2014 (plants) and 26 September 2016 (other substances), consolidated LEGI collection, arrêté du 24 juin 2014, annexe I.
- Conditions légales
Glycyrrhiza uralensis Fisch.: La portion journalière recommandée ne doit pas conduire à une ingestion d'acide glycyrrhizinique supérieure à 100 mg. L'étiquetage doit comporter un avertissement avec la teneur suivante: "Ne pas utiliser pendant plus de 6 semaines sans avis médical." L'étiquetage doit comporter un avertissement déconseillant l'emploi chez les enfants.
Source: French orders of 9 May 2006 (nutrients), 24 June 2014 (plants) and 26 September 2016 (other substances), consolidated LEGI collection, arrêté du 24 juin 2014, annexe I.
- Conditions légales
Glycine max. (L.) Merr.: La portion journalière recommandée ne doit pas conduire à une ingestion d'isoflavones supérieure à 1 mg/kg de poids corporel (exprimés comme aglycone du composant principal). L'étiquetage doit comporter un avertissement déconseillant l'usage chez les femmes ayant des antécédents personnels ou familiaux de cancer du sein.
Source: French orders of 9 May 2006 (nutrients), 24 June 2014 (plants) and 26 September 2016 (other substances), consolidated LEGI collection, arrêté du 24 juin 2014, annexe I.
A daily dose is calculated only if the label gives the maximum number of servings and a unit of mass (or international units for vitamin D). Quantities come from the label, not an analysis. In the United States, the label presents this product as a ‘dietary supplement’; in France, a product of this type may belong to another category (a sports powder, for example), and maximum food supplement doses do not apply to it.
Label composition
- Brand
- Metagenics
- Barcode
- 755571201058
- Form
- Tablet
- One serving
- 2 tablets
- Servings
- number of servings per day not stated
- Other ingredients (in English, as written)
- Microcrystalline Cellulose, Croscarmellose Sodium, Stearic Acid, Silica, Hypromellose, Medium Chain Triglyceride, Hydroxypropylcellulose
| Ingredient (as written, in English) | Category | Per serving |
|---|---|---|
| A 5:1 Proprietary Extract | Blend | 1 Gram(s) |
| Forsythia fruit extract (Forsythia suspensa) | Plant | not stated |
| Japanese Honeysuckle flower extract (Lonicera japonica) | Plant | not stated |
| Platycodon Root Extract (Platycodon grandiflorus) | Plant | not stated |
| Burdock fruit extract | Plant | not stated |
| Chinese Mint leaf extract (Mentha arvensis) | Plant | not stated |
| Chinese Licorice Root Extract (Glycyrrhiza uralensis) | Plant | not stated |
| Lophatherum leaf extract | Plant | not stated |
| Soybean Extract, Fermented (Glycine max) | Plant | not stated |
| Schizonepeta herb extract | Plant | not stated |
| Dyer's Woad root extract (Isatis tinctoria) | Plant | not stated |
| Ginger Rhizome Extract | Plant | not stated |
Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD), US National Institutes of Health: current and off-market labels, retrieved 27 October 2026.
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Dietary Supplement Label Database (CC0); US market labels.
Other versions of this label
The differences below describe each other version relative to the label shown on this page. They concern active ingredient rows and quantities per serving as written. Missing quantities are not estimated and different units are not converted. Dates refer to entry into DSLD, not necessarily to a formula change.
Official label: Essential Defense
Entered into DSLD on 16 June 2022. Retirée du marché américain le 23 February 2024 (selon le DSLD).- Same quantity, different name: fermented Soybean extract in this version; Soybean Extract, Fermented on the displayed label (quantity not stated)
Official label: Essential Defense
Entered into DSLD on 24 March 2020. Retirée du marché américain le 7 September 2022 (selon le DSLD).- Same quantity, different name: fermented Soybean extract in this version; Soybean Extract, Fermented on the displayed label (quantity not stated)
Official label: Essential Defense
Entered into DSLD on 25 January 2020. Retirée du marché américain le 20 December 2019 (selon le DSLD).- Same quantity, different name: fermented Soybean extract in this version; Soybean Extract, Fermented on the displayed label (quantity not stated)
Official label: Essential Defense
Entered into DSLD on 25 October 2013. Retirée du marché américain le 3 July 2019 (selon le DSLD).- Active ingredient added : Burdock (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient added : Chinese Licorice (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient added : Chinese Mint (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient added : Dyer's Woad (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient added : Fermented Soybean (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient added : Forsythia (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient added : Ginger (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient added : Japanese Honeysuckle (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient added : Lophatherum (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient added : Platycodon (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient added : Schizonepeta (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient removed : Burdock fruit extract (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient removed : Chinese Licorice Root Extract (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient removed : Chinese Mint leaf extract (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient removed : Dyer's Woad root extract (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient removed : Forsythia fruit extract (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient removed : Ginger Rhizome Extract (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient removed : Japanese Honeysuckle flower extract (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient removed : Lophatherum leaf extract (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient removed : Platycodon Root Extract (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient removed : Schizonepeta herb extract (quantity not stated)
- Active ingredient removed : Soybean Extract, Fermented (quantity not stated)
- Different unit, without conversion : A 5:1 Proprietary Extract: 1,000 mg in this version; 1 Gram(s) on the displayed label
Source
This information reproduces the US label recorded by the US National Institutes of Health (NIH). It does not say whether the product is effective and does not replace advice from a doctor or pharmacist, particularly during pregnancy or when taking medication.
List declared on (register: Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD), US National Institutes of Health: current and off-market labels).
List recorded in 2023. Photograph the packaging to check whether it has changed. Photograph the packaging
Brand : Metagenics